Student arrested for making a map of his school

It’s time to remove “Home of the Brave” from our National Anthem.

A Chinese student was removed from Clements High School in Fort Bend, Texas after parents complained he had re-created the school grounds in a game and uploaded the map for his friends to play. The boy was placed in the district’s alternate education school and later arrested, as the police considered him a “terroristic threat”. The Chinese community and the boy’s mother have rallied behind him, saying the school has acted too harshly in the wake of the Virginia Tech shootings. No charges were filed, though the boy won’t be allowed to participate in graduation ceremonies.

Also from here:

The map the boy designed mimicked Clements High School. And, sources said, it was uploaded either to the boy’s home computer or to a computer server where he and his friends could access and play on it. Two parents apparently learned from their children about the existence of the game, and complained to FBISD administrators, who investigated.

“They arrested him,” Chen said of FBISD police, “and also went to the house to search.” The Lin family consented to the search, and a hammer was found in the boy’s room, which he used to fix his bed, because it wasn’t in good shape, Chen said. He indicated police seized the hammer as a potential weapon.

“They decided he was a terroristic threat,” said one source close to the district’s investigation.

Speechless!

Update:
A later report fromt he same site says they confiscated swords and not a hammer.

Police discovered five swords in the bedroom of a Clements High School senior whose home they searched after getting complaints about a 3-D computer “shoot-‘em-up” game map the student designed, which depicted a portion of the school.

That information surfaced in a Fort Bend Independent School District Police Department report released Tuesday, and was confirmed by several district officials who also revealed other details about the case for the first time…

…Two sources close to the case said it’s questionable whether the swords were usable as weapons, indicating they may have been decorative.

16 Comments

  1. I am sending an email to every member of this high school’s faculty and staff, letting them know that they are an educational laughing-stock. If anyone wants to join me in my efforts, here are the addresses of the all the faculty and staff:

    Dixie.Addington@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Linda.Aiello@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Ken.Aitken@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Kathy.Anderson@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Christina.AnglarillDeshotel@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Dianne.Aparicio@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Gale.Batchelor@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    patricia.beck@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Lois.Bentley@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Jana.Beytebiere@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Robert.Boagni@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Vicky.Brathwaite@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Marty.Bratrud@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Yoshiko.Brotherton@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Alan.Brown@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Shannon.Brown@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Kelley.Brysch@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Rustin.Buck@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Lori.Busch@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Meghan.Butterfield@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Barry.Campbell@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Margie.Campbell@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Linda.Carroll@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Barbara.Case@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Ivette.Castillo@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Rene.Castro@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Susan.Cavazos@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Sharon.Cesarski@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Leah.Chambers@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Willie.Cheeks@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    yeamei.chu@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Susan.Cinque@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    William.Clark@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Lisa.Cohen@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Kristine.Copeland@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    cynthia.cornelius@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Janet.Cox@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Jennifer.Craddock@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Vilma.DaCosta@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    HollyLynn.Davis@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Sara.Day@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Israel.DeLosSantos@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Rebecca.DeNeve@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Iris.Desmeuchet@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Brenda.Doyle@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Felicia.Doyle@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Sally.Doyle@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Ben.Duhon@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Jerry.Edwards@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Shirley.Ekhator@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Linda.English@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Todd.Ericson@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    heriberto.espinosa@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Ralph.Farley@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Michael.Feichtinger@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Christopher.Fisher@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Deborah.Fojtik@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Tony.Frankie@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    MariBeth.French@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    John.Furlow@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Daniel.Galloway@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Gerald.Garcia@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Keith.Gawrick@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Velda.Glass@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Zachary.Grafe@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Christine.Graham@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Anita.Grant@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Elaine.Green2@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Kurt.Haines@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Leyla.Halimi@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    JoAnn.Hargrove@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Kathy.Harris@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Mary.Harrison@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Edith.Hartensteiner@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Kanika.Harvey@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Nancy.Heiser@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Hal.Heitman@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Ezzard.Henton@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Sharon.Hillsman@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    joseph.holmes@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Stephanie.Hoogerwerf@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Erika.Horton@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Elizabeth.House@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Lorri.Hubert@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    James.Hulme@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Mindi.Hulme@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Janet.Indemaio@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Rose.Jenkins@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Jason.Jezek@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Deena.Johnson@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Jeff.Johnson@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Renita.Johnson@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Jason.Karim@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Ken.Kaser@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Irfan.Kazanci@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    James.Kilpatrick@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Mark.Kinsey@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Crystal.Kitagawa@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Nicole.Kitagawa@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Jimmy.Klemstein@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Keith.Knowles@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Marcos.Lara@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Joanie.Leach@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Alice.Ledford@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Nancy.Liscum@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Cynthia.Liska@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Ted.Liu@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Kimberly.Long@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    CesarL.Rodriguez@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Roland.Lopez@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Lubna.Lorena@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Michael.Lotz@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Mike.Madden@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Beverly.Mahoney@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Teresa.Maldonado@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Barbara.Matranga@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Mary.Matysiak@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Sheila.McAninch@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    David.McCorkle@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Sara.McCrea@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    ellen.mcgee@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Glenys.McMennamy@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Victoria.McMillen@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Annette.Metke@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Adriana.Meza@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Pam.Milton@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Kevin.Moran@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Sandy.Morgan@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Phil.Morgante@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    debra.morris@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Kim.Murphy@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Sue.Murray@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Anuradha.Nigam@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Chris.Nilsson@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Martin.OShea@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Justin.OSullivan@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Michelle.Ochoa@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Fred.Olenick@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Veronica.Parkin@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Jason.Parsons@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Molly.Perkins@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Fred.Perrin@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Loren.Peterson@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Doris.Phillips@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Cynthia.Porter@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Karen.Porter@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Terrance.Raford@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Hannah.Rath@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Danielle.Ray@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Donna.Reedy@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Laura.Riahi@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    dudley.ronnenkamp@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Bobbi.Root@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Richard.Rubin@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Brian.Russow@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Lynda.Ruther@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Kevin.Schafer@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    AnnMarie.Schrock@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    janice.schroeder@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Audra.Schweiger@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Sharon.Shapiro@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Sunila.Singhal@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Sydney.SmithPalmer@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Brett.Sniffin@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Robin.Sparwasser@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Jeanette.Spradley@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Robin.Stauffer@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Bennett.Steinbrecher@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    freddie.steinkamp@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Nancy.Stephenson@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Nan.Stout@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Glen.Stroech@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Carol.Thompson@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Doug.Thompson@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Carlos.Torano@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Stephanie.Tullis@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Linda.Vaughan@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Annie.Wang@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Douglas.Watson@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Nancy.Weaver2@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Earl.White@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Nita.White@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Lee.Whitehead@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Evelyn.Williams@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Ginger.Wolfe@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    June.Woods@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    Phyllis.Worsham@fortbend.k12.tx.us,

    MaryEllen.Wright@fortbend.k12.tx.us

  2. swords in a Chinese home are like hammocks in a Mexican home….are we to assume that they may be ‘covert’ body bags and thus pose a danger to their neighbours?

  3. Someone should find a copy of this map and record and post some games. That would really get their panties in a bunch.

  4. I’ve done that before – I mapped out the office building of a previous employer while I was there and played Soldier of Fortune in it with colleagues. Great fun, although the boss wasn’t too keen. Meh, he was an asshole anyway.

    The problem with this is that if someone who went on a rampage was found to have done this, that it was known and that nothing was done because it was thought of as harmless (rightly or wrongly), there would be an outrage.

  5. As a teenager, My friends and I would map out our high school and city for role playing in various rpg games. The level of detail we sought would probably have gotten us arrested for terrorism today. This was before the first person shooting games, and once those were available we did the same with the level editors. We were nerds and outcasts and looked like the Columbine kids with punk haircuts and black trench coats, combat boots, etc.. this was waaay before Columbine mind you. we collected improvised munitions manuals and went to gun shows, we made homemade explosives to set off in the backyard – we would so be rotting in prison these days! The thing is, we knew better than to kill people. There’s a line between fantasy and reality, and I’m sure that this student was no different with his maps of the school than we were. He doesn’t deserve to be punished for having a creative imagination! The school and authorities just want mindless cloned zombies, not free thinking individuals!

  6. Slashdot had a load of hysterical comments on this story.

    I recall an RPG (Insylum, iirc) where the players are trapped in an asylum with connections to another dimension- the GM was advised to use his high school as the asylum. Most people can recall the way sunlight comes in at various times and locations, the smells, the sounds- all of that makes it easier to describe very real and tangible experiences.

  7. I’m an adult and I don’t think time spent putting together a hit list is time poorly spent. I’m very unlikely to snap and act out on my fantasies, but if I do, I want my acts to be well-reasoned.

  8. Sad to see that this was actually MY school back before I graduated … at least I’m no longer in the death grip of the mockery called the “Texas educational system”. In California … things are different.

Comments are closed.